Office of the Mayor The City of CoralGables

Resolution of Condolence

A Resolution of Condolence on behalf of the City of Coral Gables, extending its heartfelt sympathy to the bereaved family of the late Tony Abella.

WHEREAS, a Coral Gables resident since 1990, Tony Abella proudly served as the City's Insurance Agent of Record with Arthur J. Gallagher since 1977, recommending that the City establish an innovative "protected" self-insurance program to enable it to effectively manage its risks and associated costs. His longevity serving the City was the result of his expertise in the area, his professionalism and his first-class service and availability; and

WHEREAS, Tony was also a proud Belen Jesuit Alumnus – class of '59, having taught biology when the school was located in Little Havana, and becoming the first lay principal in the history of the school. In the many years to follow, he served the school as a member of the Board of Advisors, also as a member of Ramón Guiteras Memorial Library Board of Governors, Regis House Board, the Alumni Association Board of Directors, Agrupación Católica Universitaria (ACU) and frequently did the Spiritual Exercises of St. Ignatius of Loyola; and

WHEREAS, Tony was a loving husband, father, and grandfather, committed to his family, friends, and Belen Jesuit Preparatory Academy where he is considered a Belen son. He leaves behind an outstanding legacy of unwavering dedication, mentorship and unselfish service to others; and

WHEREAS, it is altogether fitting and proper that the City of Coral Gables pay homage to Tony Abella, on his untimely demise, May 12, 2020;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF CORAL GABLES, FLORIDA, that we extend our heartfelt sympathy to his bereaved family on the occasion of their great loss.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto placed my hand and caused the Great Seal of the City of Coral Gables to be affixed on this twenty-sixth day of May, A.D., 2020.

Raul Valdes-Fauli Mayor

Vince Lago Vice Mayor Jorge L. Fors, Jr. Commissioner

Patricia Keon Commissioner Michael Mena Commissioner