## Sec. 1. - Creation, composition, election, terms, vacancies, qualifications.

The City shall be governed by a commission consisting of five members elected from the City, at large, in groups or seats numbered One through Five. One of the said Commissioners shall be the Mayor and shall be elected by the people from the group numbered One, and all persons desiring to qualify as a candidate for Mayor shall file in Group One. The Mayor shall have the powers set in the Charter of the City of Coral Gables, Dade County, Florida (today Miami-Dade County). All persons desiring to qualify for Commissioner shall file in Groups Two through Five. Commissioners in Groups Two and Three shall be elected at the general election to be held the second Tuesday in April, 1985, and at general election every four years thereafter. Commissioners in Groups Four and Five shall be those Commissioners whose terms presently expire in 1987, and Commissioners who elect to run in Groups Four and Five shall be elected the second Tuesday in April, 1987 and general election each four years thereafter. The Mayor shall be elected at each general election beginning the second Tuesday in April 2011, and shall hold office for a term of two years. The Mayor and Commissioners shall take office at noon on the third day after their election. The Mayor and all other members of the Commission shall be subject to recall, as provided by the Charter. Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, including but not limited to, Florida Statutes 100.3605 and 166.021, the date of the general election shall only be changed by referendum or an ordinance adopted by a four-fifths (4/5) vote of the City Commission.

The candidate receiving the greatest number of votes in each group shall be considered elected after the canvas of the vote and the declaration of the elections' result as hereinafter provided.

Any Commissioner whose term of office does not expire at noon on the third day after the election, desiring to run for the office of Mayor shall present an irrevocable resignation of his or her office of Commissioner to the City Commission not less than 60 days prior to the date of election, and said resignation shall become effective at noon on the third day after the election. Upon receipt of resignation, the Commission shall make public announcement by resolution accepting the resignation and instructing the Clerk to accept qualified candidates to run for election for the unexpired term of the resigning Commissioner for the purpose of running for Mayor.

Within 30 days after a vacancy occurs on the Commission, the remaining Commissioners shall elect a Commissioner to fill the vacancy until the next general biennial election. At that time, if the term of office vacated extends beyond such election, a Commissioner shall be elected to fill the balance of the unoccupied term, except as provided for recall. Members of the Commission shall not hold any other elected office except that of Notary Public, or member of the Florida State Militia. A member of the Commission ceasing to possess any of the qualifications specified in the Charter, or if convicted of a felony while in office, shall immediately and automatically forfeit his or her office.